My marbling project CC3C #1 – Rainbow Ribbon Dispenser

image
Hello there fellow crafters! I am trying out the marbling technique again and I think it turned out amazing! I needed a ribbon dispenser, didn’t really like what I saw at stores, so I made my own!
If you’re wanting step by step, please understand I’m only going to describe broad strokes here… creativity lives in your imagination, so CREATE!! Leave a comment with pics or a link so I can see into your world because I truly admire what other people come up with!
Here’s a mini list of supplies (again its general):
• Photo Box
• Tim Holtz keyhole and foundation leg embellishments; LOVE how his elements all coordinate with how different they are.
• Studio Multi-Medium Matte
• Cardboard
• Tim Holtz Distress Paints (various colors, as any colors will work with this technique)
• Tim Holtz Distress Inks
• WATER!! (spritzer)
• Archival ink
• A ruler, Exact-o knife, stamps etc… whatever you have will work! 🙂

 

I started with a normal photo box and removed the metal label holder so each side will be flat.
20140501_195428

 

I then cut paper to my desired size to cover the sides of the box, and the sides of the box lid. I utilized Tim’s water marbling technique to make the background, then stamped the lid liner strips. I distressed the edges with black.  I tried this with archival ink because my mini’s hadn’t come in yet… and I must tell you it didn’t go well.  Luckily it turned out fine, but Tim Holtz distress ink and blender pads are DEFINITELY the way you want to go.

20140502_195827 20140502_202329 20140502_202750

20140501_194908

 

*SIDE TIP 1: For your mini blending pads, I figured out that can store them on the flip side of the ink pad.  I suggest placing the ink side to the inside (unlike the picture), so you can just press your blending tool to the pad and you’re ready to rock!

I placed the box on its side and marked where I needed to cut my holes, then went to town with an Exact-o knife. Next, I cut and scored a piece of cardboard scrap (which it’s a word I like because everything can eventually be used for SOMEthing…) and placed it inside so the ribbon would have something to keep t in place.

20140501_200612 20140502_210817 20140501_201927 20140502_193049

**SIDE TIP 2: You can make your dispenser double sided OR use the other side for more storage. Again the creativity is up to you! 🙂

 

I used Studio Multi-Medium Matte to adhere the paper to the box.  This stuff is amazing (Thank you again Cheryl Grigsby!) For the box top, I wanted to use something from the new paper packs I bought, BUT I couldn’t decide which sheet… SO I used the cover of the pack which displays ALL of them. I distress inked the edges and stuck it on with Medium Matte.

20140501_195621  Untitled 20140502_205602

 

I used Tim Holtz keyhole and foundation elements to give the box some more flair and finished the top with another of Tim’s inspirational phrases, a butterfly die cut from grunge board, and a few paper flowers (using the Tim Holtz layered Angel Wings and Tattered Pinecone dies).

20140501_194113 20140501_194101  20140502_223856

 

image

image

image

 

Thanks for checking this out.  Hope to see what you create!

– Love Luck and Lollipops, Mandy

 

To buy supplies you can go to the Inspiration Emporium or Rocky Mountain Memories

7 thoughts on “My marbling project CC3C #1 – Rainbow Ribbon Dispenser

  1. pinkleart says:

    Mandy! This is AWESOME! I love the use of the Marbling, the embellies are gorgeous and the idea of putting the ribbons through Keyholes is GENIUS! Thanks for playing along with the CC3 Challenge… please make sure you have popped your linky onto the InLinks on Linda’s blog too to be in with a chance of winning a prize x

Leave a Reply

